Browse Lessons
Assign Lesson

Help Teaching subscribers can assign lessons to their students to review online!

Assign Lesson to Students

Share/Like This Page

The Inner Planets

The Inner Planets

Introduction: Our solar system has eight planets that revolve around our closest star, the Sun. Each of the planets is unique. However, the four planets closest to the Sun share some similar properties. They have rocky surfaces. They do not have rings around them. They are smaller in size compared to the four outer planets of our solar system. Because the four planets closest to the Sun have common properties, they are grouped together and called the inner planets.

The inner planets are the four planets in our solar system that are closest to the Sun. They are also called terrestrial planets. The four inner planets, in order from the Sun, are shown below.

The Inner Planets

Try the practice questions to see what you know about the inner planets. Then, watch the video lesson to learn more about Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars.


Required Video:

Additional Resources: