Browse Lessons
Assign Lesson

Help Teaching subscribers can assign lessons to their students to review online!

Assign Lesson to Students

Share/Like This Page

The Outer Planets

The Outer Planets

Introduction: Our solar system has eight planets that revolve around our closest star, the Sun. Each of the planets is unique. However, the four planets farthest from the Sun share some similar properties. They are gas giants and do not have solid surfaces. They have rings around them. They are larger in size compared to the four inner planets of our solar system. They have many moons. Because the four planets farthest from the Sun have common properties, they are grouped together and called the outer planets.

The outer planets are the four confirmed planets in our solar system farthest from the Sun. They are also called Jovian planets. The four outer planets, in order from the Sun, are shown below.

Directions for This Lesson: In this lesson, you will learn about the outer planets. First, try the practice questions. Then, watch the video lesson to further explore Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.


Required Video:

Related Worksheets: