Question Info

This question is public and is used in 1 group and 11 tests or worksheets.

Type: Multiple-Choice
Category: Compare and Contrast
Level: Grade 10
Standards: CCRA.R.6, RI.9-10.6, RST.9-10.6
Tags: ELA-Literacy.RI.9-10.6
Author: ReadingMatters
Created: 5 years ago

View all questions by ReadingMatters.

Compare and Contrast Question

View this question.

Add this question to a group or test by clicking the appropriate button below.

Note: This question is included in a group. The contents of the question may require the group's common instructions or reference text to be meaningful. If so, you may want to add the entire group of questions to your test. To do this, click on the group instructions in the blue box below. If you choose to add only this question, common instructions or reference text will not be added to your test.

The Fujita Scale
Over two decades ago, meteorologist Tetsuya “Ted” Fujita changed the way the world perceived and understood tornadoes. Fujita, born in Japan in 1920, spent all of his adult life studying and researching thunderstorms, tornadoes and hurricanes. His experimentation led to the development of the now familiar Fujita scale, designed to measure the intensity of a tornado.

The scale is formulated based on the storm’s area of damage, and wind speed. For example in a F0 tornado, winds only reach 72 miles an hour and damage is minor,. A F5 features winds going as high as 319 miles an hour, and destructive is massive. The Fujita scale is divided into six categories: F0 (Gale); F1 (Weak); F3 (Severe); F4 (Devastating) and F5 (Incredible).

Over the years, Fujita, as well as other meteorologists have discovered flaws in the scale. In 2007, the scale was revised and implemented throughout the nation. Even though Fujita passed away in 1998, his impact on the field of tornado research is endless.


In 2007, two scientists from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) announced a new method of measuring or rating snowstorms. It is known as the Northeast Snowfall Impact Scale, or NESIS. The scale is used to rate the blizzards that strike the northeastern portion of the country.

NESIS is based on five levels of intensity. They range from 1 (Notable), 2 (Significant), and 3 (Major), to 4 (Crippling) and 5 (Extreme). The scale is not used as a warning system, but instead measures and assesses the impact of a storm after it has already ended. It is predicated upon the inches of snow, the land area affected, and the number of people affected. Eventually, the experts at NOAA believe NESIS will extend to other regions within the country that regularly experience massive winter storms.

Grade 10 Compare and Contrast CCSS: CCRA.R.6, RI.9-10.6, RST.9-10.6

What factor do these two viewpoints have in common?
  1. Weather can be incredibly destructive.
  2. Better warning systems have saved lives.
  3. The impact of a storm on people must be factored in.
  4. Different regions of the country experience different weather problems.
You need to have at least 5 reputation to vote a question down. Learn How To Earn Badges.